Local Government and Rating Act 1997 Rating relief for General Store, Post Offices, Public Houses, Petrol Filling Stations and Food Shops

In accordance with Section 1 and Schedule 1 of the above Act the Forest of Dean District Council is required to publish a draft list of the areas that the Authority believes will constitute rural settlements for the purposes of this Act.

The Authority believes that, from 1st April 2020, the following areas will constitute rural settlements for the purposes of the Local Government and Rating Act 1997.

Alvington	Newland
Awre	Newnham
Aylburton	Oxenhall
Blaisdon	Pauntley
Bromsberrow	Redmarley
Churcham	Ruardean
Corse	Rudford and Highleadon
Dymock	Ruspidge
English Bicknor	St. Briavels
Hartpury	Staunton Coleford
Hewelsfield & Brockweir	Staunton Gloucester
Huntley	Taynton
Kempley	Tibberton
Littledean	Upleadon
Longhope	Westbury on Severn
Lydbrook	Woolaston

It should be noted that the towns of Cinderford, Coleford, Lydney and Newent have populations in excess of 3,000 and cannot under the terms of the Act, be considered to be rural settlements.